QMSC at CLS

New Developments in Fe-based Superconductivity

December 13-14, 2021

Angle-Resolved Photoemission Spectroscopy (ARPES) is a powerful tool used to study the momentum dependent electronic structure of solids, elucidating the connection between electronic, magnetic, and chemical structure. The availability of dedicated ARPES beamlines in state-of-the-art synchrotron facilities – such as the recently completed Quantum Materials Spectroscopy Centre (QMSC) at the Canadian Light Source (CLS) – is essential to achieving a deeper understanding of new phases of matter in quantum materials, and their application potential for future technologies.

sbqmi_logopng.png

The Workshop QMSC at CLS: New Developments in Fe-based Superconductivity, co-organized by the Canadian Light Source Inc. and the Stewart Blusson Quantum Matter Institute, will be held virtually on  December 13 and 14, 2021. The aim of this workshop is twofold.

First, this workshop will provide an overview of the QMSC at CLS, a beamline facility dedicated to performing spin- and angle-resolved photoemission spectroscopy (Spin+ARPES), operating with circular and linear polarization in the 15-1200 eV photon energy range. Commissioning results will be presented for the ARPES branch, together with an overview of the upcoming Spin+ARPES branch.

qmsc-layout.png
QMSC Beamline

Second, to further showcase QMSCs capabilities and more generally the power of Spin+ARPES in the investigation of quantum materials, we will discuss a number of case studies performed on Fe-based superconductors in both thin-film and single crystalline form. This work addresses the dimensionality and orbital character of the low-energy electronic structure, symmetry breaking instabilities, interfacial superconductivity and electron-phonon coupling, as well as magnetic moment fluctuations.

arpes-sr2ruo4.png

Looking forward to an exciting event and meeting you all at QMSC at CLS!

Day 1

December 13th, 2021 9am-12pm PST

11am-2pm CST, 12-3pm EST, 6-9pm Europe, Dec 14th 1-4am China

  1. Introduction (G. Botton, CLS; A. Damascelli, UBC)
  2. QMSC Beamline Overview (S. Gorovikov, CLS)
  3. Orbitals in the Fe-Based Superconductors (M. Yi, Rice)
  4. The 3D Electronic Structure of LiFeAs (R.P. Day, UBC)
  5. Visualizing broken symmetry states in FeSe1-xSx (E.H. da Silva Neto, Yale)

Day 2

December 14th, 2021 4-7pm PST

6-9pm CST, 7-10pm EST, Dec 15th 1-4am Europe, Dec 15th 8-11am China

  1. Engineering and mechanism of FeSe/oxide interfacial superconductor (D.L. Feng, Fudan)
  2. New developments in Fe-based superconductivity (Z.X. Shen, Stanford)
  3. Electronic structure and magnetic moment fluctuations in free standing and monolayer FeSe (G.A. Sawatzky, UBC)
  4. QMSC: Spin-ARPES and future developments (S. Zhdanovich, UBC)
  5. Concluding Remarks (G. Botton, CLS; A. Damascelli, UBC)