The Canadian Light Source (CLS) was incorporated in 1999 to market the use of its synchrotron light to scientific, academic, government and industrial users and stakeholders. While owned by the University of Saskatchewan (USask), the CLS as a non-profit corporation is leased to the Canadian Light Source Inc. The University of Saskatchewan established the non-profit corporation to enable national client involvement and stakeholder engagement in directing operations through appointed board position participation on the CLS Board of Directors.

As the sole member of the corporation, the University of Saskatchewan through its Board of Governors appoints the CLS Board of Directors. Accountability to the University of Saskatchewan is maintained through the appointed positions of those occupying the University positions of the Vice President Research, and Vice President Finance and Resources, and through reporting to the University of Saskatchewan, Board of Governors at their Annual General Meeting in June, and through mid-year reports. The reports provided to the Board of Governors include the CLS annual report and annual financial statements, as well as updates on strategic leadership and resource management, governance and management structure, the operational capacity of the facility and stakeholder relations.

The CLS Board of Directors meets quarterly, including one annual strategic planning retreat. The Board membership includes representation from major facility stakeholders (academia, government, and industry), and the Board is responsible for determining and providing high-level strategic direction to the operations of CLS. The Board currently has 14 members; affiliations and Committee appointments are available.

Finance & Audit Committee
Greg Fowler (Chair)
Tony Van Burgsteden
John Wright
Governance and Nominating Committee 
David Stuewe (Chair)
Jean-Claude Kieffer
Tamara Korassa 
Jennifer van Wijngaarden
Business Development Committee
Carolyn Cross (Chair)
Kari Harvey
Jean-Claude Kieffer
John Wright
Human Resources Committee 
Lynne Howell (Chair)
Felcitas Katepa-Mupondwa
David Stuewe
Tom Tiedje
Executive Committee 
Pierre Lapointe (Chair)
Janet King (Vice-Chair)
Baljit Singh
Lynne Howell
Tony Van Burgsteden
Health, Safety, Environment and Facility Security Committee 
Tom Tiedje (Chair)
Kari Harvey
Lynne Howell
Jennifer van Wijngaarden

2021 CLSI Board of Directors Meetings:

March 16 - 17, 2021

June 15 - 16, 2021

September 28 - 29, 2021

December 7 - 8, 2021

2022 CLSI Board of Directors Meetings:

March 16 - 17, 2022

June 21 - 22, 2022

September 28 - 29, 2022

December 6 - 7, 2022

Connect with us

By providing your email address, you are expressing consent to receive electronic messages from the Canadian Light Source. You can unsubscribe from these messages at any time.

Monthly Newsletter

**Newsletters are sent approximately once a month**

Events Notifications

If you’re looking for information on how you can use CLS techniques in your research program, please contact us using this form.

Example queries may include: Feasibility around a potential experiment? A scientific problem we can help you solve? Is your question related to a specific technique? Do you want to know more about how to apply for beamtime?