The CLS places a high value on student training. Our facility offers graduate students access to world-class facilities, and the opportunity to interact with scientific colleagues from around the globe. Many of these students are expected to become the scientific leaders of tomorrow.

G. Michael ‘Mike’ Bancroft was the Scientific Director of the Canadian Synchrotron Radiation Facility (CSRF) in Madison, WI from 1978-1999, and Executive Director and Director of Research of the CLS from 1999-2001 and 2000-2004, respectively, during the crucial development years of the facility. He is widely acknowledged as the driving force behind the creation of Canada’s national synchrotron facility. He received the CIC Montreal Medal in 2002, was named an Officer of the Order of Canada in 2003 and is currently Professor Emeritus at The University of Western Ontario.


Each year, the CLS will present the G. Michael Bancroft PhD Thesis Award to the PhD thesis judged to be the best published in the last calendar year and (new in 2019, onward) the G. Michael Bancroft Masters Thesis Award to the Masters thesis judged to be the best published in the last calendar year. The PhD award consists of a certificate and a cash prize of $1,000 CAD, plus up to $2,000 CAD for travel expenses (if applicable) to a conference of their choice (pre-approved by the CLS).  The Masters award consists of a certificate and a cash prize of $500 CAD.

Eligibility Criteria:

To be eligible for the award, you must:

“Part or all of the research described in this paper was performed at the Canadian Light Source, a national research facility of the University of Saskatchewan, which is supported by the Canada Foundation for Innovation (CFI), the Natural Sciences and Engineering Research Council (NSERC), the National Research Council (NRC), the Canadian Institutes of Health Research (CIHR), the Government of Saskatchewan, and the University of Saskatchewan.”


Applications will be accepted either from the candidate or their supervisor.  Please forward the following application material to with either Bancroft Award (PhD) or Bancroft Award (Masters) in the subject line during the official call for nominations.


The CLS is accepting nominations for 2020 until midnight on Friday, May 14, 2021.

Review Criteria:

All theses will be evaluated by a Review Committee, using the following three criteria:

Previous Recipients of this Award:

2019 PhD Thesis - Nazanin Samadi, University of Saskatchewan
2019 Masters Thesis - No nominations were recieved for this award
2018 - (Joint) Brett Leedahl, University of Saskatchewan; Janice Reimer, McGill University
2017 - Jongmin Lee, University of Toronto
2016 - Neil Johnson, University of Saskatchewan
2015 – Andrew Achkar, University of Waterloo
2014 – Michelle (Tonkin) Parker, University of British Columbia
2013 – Riccardo Comin, University of British Columbia
2012 – Lijia Liu, Western University 
2011 – Arathi Padmanabhan, University of Windsor
2010 – Adam Gillespie, University of Saskatchewan
2009 – Jesse Smith, University of Ottawa
2008 – Edwige Otero, University of Saskatchewan

Back to Awards

Connect with us

By providing your email address, you are expressing consent to receive electronic messages from the Canadian Light Source. You can unsubscribe from these messages at any time.

Monthly Newsletter

**Newsletters are sent approximately once a month**

Events Notifications

If you’re looking for information on how you can use CLS techniques in your research program, please contact us using this form.

Example queries may include: Feasibility around a potential experiment? A scientific problem we can help you solve? Is your question related to a specific technique? Do you want to know more about how to apply for beamtime?