Thank you for submitting nominations for the various awards.

Allen Pratt Memorial Award for Community Service: No nominations were received for the Allen Pratt award for 2018.

G. Michael Bancroft PhD Thesis Award: There were some exceptional submissions for the 2018 G. Michael Bancroft PhD thesis Award. We couldn't decide between the top two theses so we decided we would split the award, the award winners are Brett Leedahl, University of Saskatchewan, for his thesis entitled "The Electronic and Magnetic Effects of 3d Transition Metal Impurities in Semiconductors"  and Janice Reimer, McGill University, for her thesis "Structures of the linear gramicidin synthetase reveal its elegant synthetic cycle". 

User Support Award (Nominations can be submitted for this award through the end of 2019 or provide relevant comments on the end of run surveys. This award will be announced in May 2020.)

Young Investigator Excellence Award: From a very talented field of submissions the CLS User's Executive Committee has awarded the 2018 Young Investigator's Award to Professor Julie Cosmidis, Department of Geosciences, Pennsylvania State University. Congratulations Professor Cosmidis and we hope that the CLS will remain an important tool in your research program.

Connect with us

By providing your email address, you are expressing consent to receive electronic messages from the Canadian Light Source. You can unsubscribe from these messages at any time.

Monthly Newsletter

**Newsletters are sent approximately once a month**

Events Notifications

If you’re looking for information on how you can use CLS techniques in your research program, please contact us using this form.

Example queries may include: Feasibility around a potential experiment? A scientific problem we can help you solve? Is your question related to a specific technique? Do you want to know more about how to apply for beamtime?