Day 1 – October 7, 2020

Day One – CLS Update and Scientific Talks

9:00 AMWelcomeIan Burgess, UEC Chair
9:10 AMFacility Update Rob Lamb, CEO, Canadian Light Source
9:40 AMMachine UpdateMark Boland, Machine Director, Canadian Light Source
10:00 AMCLS Science UpdateGianluigi Botton, Science Director, Canadian Light Source
10:30 AMScience Talk #1 – 2019 Young Investigator Excellence Award WinnerDr. Robert Green, Transmission-luminescence detection for X-ray absorption spectroscopy and X-ray reflectometry
11:15 AMScience Talk #2 – 2019 G. M. Bancroft Award WinnerDr. Nazanin Samadi, A real time phase space beam size and divergence monitor for synchrotron radiation.
1:00 PMVirtual Poster Session

Day 2 – October 8, 2020

Day Two – CLS 2.0

9:00 AMCLS 2.0 Machine Planning Mark Boland, Machine Director, Canadian Light Source
9:30 AMKeynote 1 – The construction and first commissioning results of Sirius, the new Brazilian Synchrotron Light SourceHarry Westfahl Jr., Brazilian Synchrotron Light Laboratory, Director
10:15 AMKeynote 2 – X-ray Photon Correlation Spectroscopy: Past, Present, and FutureMark Sutton, McGill University Centre for the Physics of Materials and Physics Dept
11:00 AMBreak Out SessionsTom Regier, CLS Beamline Scientist
NOTE: All breakouts are being held at 11 AM. You are welcome to enter and exit the sessions as you wish.
Session 1Advanced Materials
Discussion Leader: Prof. Stefan Kycia, University of Guelph
Session 2Environment and Agriculture
Discussion Leader: Prof Jennifer van Wijngaarden, University of Manitoba
Session 3Health, Life and Bio Sciences
Discussion Leader: Prof. Albert Berghuis, McGill University
1:00PMLessons learned from the original effort to build Canada’s light source: inspiration for CLS 2.0 by G.M. Bancroft Book Launch Michael Bancroft, Former Director of CLS
1:30 PMBreak out session summary – Open forum


Event Sponsor Slider

[logoshowcase center_mode=”true” loop=”true” dots=”false” arrows=”false” slides_column=”5″]

The Canadian Light Source is a national research facility of the University of Saskatchewan.