User Support Award

Award Description

The Users’ Executive Committee (UEC) gives an award every year to a Canadian Light Source (CLS) staff member who best exemplifies user support and has made outstanding contributions to the success of research of CLS users. The award recognizes efforts to conduct and assist in important technical or scientific accomplishments in synchrotron-radiation based science but also efforts to foster collaboration, promote innovative solutions, improve efficiencies in beamline and beamtime management and generally to help the facility be a leading centre of excellence in synchrotron science.


Eligibility Criteria

To be eligible for the award, the recipient must be a CLSI employee.

Nomination Procedure and Selection Information

If there any CLS staff member (e.g. beamline scientist, support staff, floor coordinator, etc.) who, in your opinion, deserves to be nominated for the UEC User Support Award, please provide a short paragraph in support of your nomination.

Nominations, including a brief written reason for the nominations, can be submitted to any UEC member at any time from any CLS staff, user, or committee member. Nominations can also be submitted directly to the CLS User Services Office.

The recipient is decided based on the recommendation of a 3 member sub-committee of the UEC. The selection of the recipient is based on the number and/or quality of nominations and an evaluation by the sub-committee of the recipients’ user support activities. If the sub-committee unanimously agrees on the candidate, only a confirmation of the selection is requested from other members of the UEC.  Otherwise, a vote of the UEC determines the recipient.

Deadline: Nominations for the 2018 User Support Award will be open soon.

Previous Recipients of this Award:

2017 – Peter Blanchard (VESPERS)

2016 – Yongfeng Hu (SXRMB)
2015 – Ning Chen (HXMA)
2014 – George Belev (BMIT)
2013 – Jillayne Neufeld (User's Office)
2012 – Jian Wang (SM)
2011 – George Belev (BMIT)
2010 – Brant Billinghurst (Far-IR)
2009 – Lucia Zuin (PGM)
2008 – Tom Regier (SGM)
2007 – Lavina Carter (User's Office)


Sponsored by Johnson Ultravac Inc., 2011 – 2016
Sponsored by AECOM, 2007 – 2010


Back to Awards

how can we help?

If you’re looking for information on how you can use CLS techniques in your research program, please contact us using this form.

Example queries may include: Feasibility around a potential experiment? A scientific problem we can help you solve? Is your question related to a specific technique? Do you want to know more about how to apply for beamtime?

Newsletter Signup

By providing your email address, you are expressing consent to receive electronic messages from the Canadian Light Source. You can unsubscribe from these messages at any time.

**Newsletters are sent approximately once a month**