Users' Executive Committee

The Users’ Executive Committee (UEC) serves as an arm’s length advisory group to the Canadian Light Source Science Director and as an advocate for the CLS’s user community. The UEC represents the interests of all CLS users; it provides recommendations and feedback to the CLS on opportunities to improve the user experience and enhance scientific capabilities, and it provides a mechanism for users to suggest recommendations for research programs and upgrades in alignment with the CLS Strategic Plan.

Users are strongly encouraged to contact the UEC individual members, as appropriate, for any concerns or inquiries with regard to the above or any of the following: disputes involving allocation of beam time; Beam Teams and potential membership; concerns over CLS policies and procedures (including health and safety); suggestions for targeted workshops, user training, seminars, summer schools, and the CLS education program; nominations for recipients for UEC Awards; or any other concerns they may have with regard to user issues or experiences at the CLS.

Committee membership:

Current UEC: (from left to right) Derek Peak, Jeff Warner, David Hawthorn, Ian Burgess, Brandy Toner, Grant Henderson and David Cooper. Missing: Serge Desgreniers, Joanne Lemieux

Members are elected for a three-year term, renewable for no more than one term. Membership is intended to represent the scientific spectrum with an effort to achieve a balanced representation from the user communities in alignment with the key strategic research sectors of the CLS. Committee members are assigned one or more special interest groups to represent (i.e. Graduate Students, Advanced Materials, Health, Agriculture, Environment, Industry, Simulations, and Instrumentation). Users that fall within one of these groups should contact the relevant UEC member directly with any concerns specific to their interest group. Members are appointed by the UEC with input from the Science Director, and nominations from the user community. 

Ian Burgess, University of Saskatchewan

Ian Burgess is a member of the Department of Chemistry at the University of Saskatchewan. His research interests include spectroelectrochemistry using synchrotron radiation. He is the beamteam leader of the CLS mid-IR beamline and was a member of the former User Advisory Committee.

David Cooper, University of Saskatchewan

David Cooper holds a Tier II Canada Research Chair in Synchrotron Bone Imaging at the University of Saskatchewan.  His research focuses on bone aging, adaptation and disease. He primarily makes use of computed tomography and X-ray fluorescence imaging. He is the BMIT Beam Team Leader for the CLS. 

Serge Desgreniers, University of Ottawa

Serge Desgreniers is a Professor of Physics at the University of Ottawa, specializing in experimental studies of phase transitions and physical properties of condensed matter at extreme conditions. He is a regular synchrotron radiation user (X-ray scattering and IR spectroscopy) and beam team member at the CLS. He formerly chaired the CLS UAC and is currently the Scientific Advisory Committee member on the UEC.

David Hawthorn, University of Waterloo

David Hawthorn is a Professor in the Department of Physics and Astronomy at the University of Waterloo.  Prof. Hawthorn is an experimental condensed matter physicist, whose research is focused on using resonant soft x-ray scattering and x-ray spectroscopy to investigate quantum materials, such as high temperature superconductors.  He is a beam team member at the REIXS beamline and has formerly chaired the CLS UAC.

Grant Henderson, University of Toronto

Grant Henderson is the W.M. Keck chair of geology at the University of Toronto. His research is on geological melts, glasses and amorphous materials. He primarily uses X-ray absorption near-edge structure (XANES) and X-ray Raman spectroscopy (XRS). He is the current chair of the UEC.

Joanne Lemieux, University of Alberta

Joanne Lemieux is an Associate Professor in the Department of Biochemistry at the University of Alberta. Dr. Lemieux's research focuses on membrane protein structure and function, and primarily uses protein crystallography beamlines at the CLS.

Derek Peak, University of Saskatchewan

Derek Peak is a Professor in the Department of Soil Science at the University of Saskatchewan. Dr. Peak is a soil chemist with 20 years experience in utilizing synchrotron-based spectroscopy (primarily EXAFS, XANES, and X-ray microprobe techniques) to understand soil chemical processes.  He is a former chair of the UAC.

Brandy Toner, University of Minnesota

Brandy Toner is an Associate Professor in the Department of Soil, Water, and Climate at the University of Minnesota. Dr. Toner is a geochemist whose research addresses the biogeochemistry of metals through application of X-ray microprobe, microscopy, and spectroscopy approaches.  She was previously the Advanced Light Source UEC Chair.

Jeff Warner, Canadian Light Source

Jeff Warner is the Industrial Science Manager at the CLS. Dr Warner was previously an environmental geochemist at Cameco Corporation and the 2016 CLS User's Advisory Committee chair. He informs the committee on industrial activities at the CLS and acts as an information conduit between the committee and CLS management.  


Connect with us

By providing your email address, you are expressing consent to receive electronic messages from the Canadian Light Source. You can unsubscribe from these messages at any time.

Monthly Newsletter

**Newsletters are sent approximately once a month**

Events Notifications

If you’re looking for information on how you can use CLS techniques in your research program, please contact us using this form.

Example queries may include: Feasibility around a potential experiment? A scientific problem we can help you solve? Is your question related to a specific technique? Do you want to know more about how to apply for beamtime?