Advisory Committees

The Canadian Light Source has four advisory committees:

Each of these committees has a key role to play to ensure that the Canadian Light Source provides scientifically excellent research capability with state of the art experimental facilities, operated in a user friendly manner.

Scientific Advisory Committee (SAC)

The CLSI Scientific Advisory Committee (SAC) is advisory to the CLSI Board of Directors (Board) through the CLSI Chief Executive Officer. The mission of the SAC is to ensure that present and future scientific programs at the CLS are of the highest quality and relevant to the requirements of the Canadian scientific community, and that they support the mission of the CLS. In order to meet its mission, the SAC has two primary functions:

The SAC will have the responsibility of providing recommendations on all technical and policy issues that bear on the full and effective utilization of the CLS as a state-of-the-art national synchrotron radiation facility and on future developments required to maintain the scientific and technical productivity of the facility at the highest possible level.

The range of inquiry of the SAC will specifically include a consideration of what mix of beamlines, their ancillary laboratories and equipment, and scientific activities will ensure an appropriate utilization of the CLS as a national facility. In particular, the SAC will have the following responsibilities:

Committee Membership:

Serge Desgreniers, University of Ottawa, Canada
Micael Grunze, University of Heidelberg, Germany
Steven Hulbert, Photon Sciences, Brookhaven Laboratory, Brookhaven, N.Y. 
Reiner Kruecken, TRIUMF, University of British Columbia, Canada
Giorgio Paolucci, SESAME, Jordan
Trevor Rayment, DIAMOND Light Source, U.K.
Nigel Smith, SNOLAB, Ontario, Canada
Rob Lewis, Monash University, Australia
Michael Martin, Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory, California
Carrie Wilmot, University of Minnesota

Beamline Advisory Committee (BAC)

This committee is representative of the scientists directly involved in the development and operation of the research facilities at the CLS.

The BAC has the following duties:

Committee members include Beamteam Leaders and Staff Scientists for each beamline and CLS

CLS Management, Department

Dean Chapman, Science Director
Robert Blyth, Science Projects Manager
Pawel Grochulski, Bio/Life Sciences Manager
Feizhou He, Material & Chemical Sciences Manager
Chithra Karunakaran, Environmental & Earth Sciences Manager

Beamline Beamteam Leader Staff Scientist(s)
Biomedical Imaging and Therapy (BMIT-BM & BMIT-ID) David Cooper Denise Miller
Sergey Gasilov
The Brockhouse X-Ray Diffraction and Scattering Sector (Brockhouse) Stefan Kycia Beatriz Moreno
Canadian Macromolecular Crystallography Facility (CMCF 1) Mirek Cygler Pawel Grochulski
Canadian Macromolecular Crystallography Facility (CMCF 2) Mirek Cygler Michel Fodje
Far Infrared Spectroscopy (Far-IR) A. Robert McKellar Brant Billinghurst
Hard X-ray MicroAnalysis (HXMA) De-Tong Jiang Ning Chen
Chang-Yong Kim
High Resolution Spherical Grating Monochromator (SGM) T.K. Sham Tom Regier
Industry, Development, Education, Applications, Students (IDEAS) Jeffrey Cutler David Muir
Life Science Beamline for X-ray Absorption Spectroscopy at the Canadian Light (BioXAS) Graham George
Ingrid Pickering

Gosia Korbas
Roman Chernikov

Mid Infrared Spectromicroscopy (Mid-IR) Kirk Michaelian Scott Rosendahl
The Quantum Materials Spectroscopy Center (QMSC) Andrea Damascelli Sergey Gorovikov
Resonant Elastic and Inelastic X-ray Scattering (REIXS) Alex Moewes (XES)
George Sawatzky (RIXS)
Feizhou He
Soft X-ray Microcharacterization Beamline (SXRMB) T.K. Sham Yongfeng Hu
Soft X-ray Spectromicroscopy (SM) Stephen Urquhart Jian Wang
Synchrotron Laboratory for Micro And Nano Devices (SyLMAND) Sven Achenbach
David Klymyshyn
Garth Wells
Variable Line Spacing Plane Grating Monochromator (VLS PGM) T.K. Sham Lucia Zuin
Very Sensitive Elemental and Structural Probe Employing Radiation from a Synchrotron (VESPERS) Vacant Renfei Feng

Machine Advisory Committee (MAC)

The Machine Advisory Committee (MAC) is advisory to the CLSI Chief Executive Officer. The mission of the MAC is to ensure that present and future technical aspects of the accelerator at the CLS are of the highest quality and relevant to the requirements of the Canadian scientific community, and that they support the mission of the CLS.

Committee Member             Home Institution
Bob Hettel, Chair             APS, Illinois
Marie-Emmanuelle Couprie             SOLIEL, France
Dave Gurd            
            retired, previously at SSCL & TRIUMF
Bob Laxdal             TRIUMF, B.C. Canada
Lin Liu              LNLS, Brazil
Gary Navrotski  
            APS, Illinois         
Francis Pérez             ALBA, Spain

how can we help?

If you’re looking for information on how you can use CLS techniques in your research program, please contact us using this form.

Example queries may include: Feasibility around a potential experiment? A scientific problem we can help you solve? Is your question related to a specific technique? Do you want to know more about how to apply for beamtime?

Newsletter Signup

By providing your email address, you are expressing consent to receive electronic messages from the Canadian Light Source. You can unsubscribe from these messages at any time.

**Newsletters are sent approximately once a month**